Starring Pansies – 6 to 48 Point Round Ripple

A few months ago I discovered the wonderful world of online crochet, knitting, sewing, quilting. You name it, an all you can eat, practically endless supply. I have been so inspired by all the beautiful projects. I now have a list a yard long of the different things I want to create.

I have become a yarn hoarder. I have made a list of projects, bought the yarn. Only so much time in the day.

My WISix-Pointed Star Afghan by Sandra J SmithP at the moment is a 6 to 48 point round ripple, inspired by the Six-Pointed Star Afghan by Sandra J Smith (originally bought here in Feb 2016 from Annie’s Cataloge but the it seems it has gone out of print since then. It has gone in and out of print a couple of times. You can also view it on Ravelry)IMAG0073

I must confess I am not following that pattern at all. I used it to get an idea of the yarn requirements, and I loved the idea of colour scheme

I’m using Bendigo Woolen Mills Classic, which comes in 200 gm ball which is great for an afghan project.

IMAG0005

I decided to create a star  made from triangles with 3D pansies in the centre.

IMAG0070

IMAG0075

 

 

 

 

(Unblocked)(Blocked)

I kept the idea of starting with a light color, going darker with each color change, and doing more rows as well. As well as adding in the extra points in white. But I am using a completely different stitch.

I thought the color change looked really good. I wasn’t so happy with the way the pattern I was creating was turning out. The points on the star were getting too rounded. I wanted sharper points. I frogged it and tried again.

IMAG0002

I don’t have floor space big enough. to lay it out. I still need to do the last 6 rows, and I’m playing around with the idea of doing a border. Not sure yet.

Once I’ve finished the crochet part I will block it a fraction at a time I think. It makes the triangles sit really nicely.

I am working on writing up the pattern for it. We’ll see how that goes.

This is my first blog, and I’m a bit of a hermit, so if anyone sees this and wants to comment I’d love to hear from you.

I’m not on any other media at the moment, but I suppose I’ll get set up on all the usual things sooner or later

Ros

One thought on “Starring Pansies – 6 to 48 Point Round Ripple

Leave a Reply

